I feel blessed and humbled receiving the Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Smruti Pratishthan Awards – Ustad Amjad Ali Khan

Mangeshkar Award
Mangeshkar Award

Smruti Pratishthan felicitated legends from the fields of music, drama, art and social work with the prestigious Deenanath Awards at the Shri Shanmukhanand Hall, Sion. Hon. Minister  Shri Nitin Gadkari presided over the function.

Hridaynath Mangeshkar, Usha  Mangeshkar, Lata Mangeshkar, Adinath Mangeshkar, Avinash Prabhavalkar and Ravi Joshi among others played perfect hosts at the event that had a familiar feel to it.

This year, the Award was conferred upon the Sarod Maestro Ustad Amjad Ali Khan; Lifetime Award to Asha Bhosle, Special Award to Anupam Kher for his contribution to Indian Theatre and Cinema, Shekhar Sen for his contribution to Theatre, Dhananjay Datar for his Social Entrepreneurship; the Vagvilasini Award to poet Yogesh Gaur for Literature and Shriram Gogate Award to Rajiv Khandekar for Journalism; the Mohan Wagh Award to Theatre Production – Ananya for Best Drama of the Year; the Asha Bhosle Award to Mery Behlihomji, Hon. Chairperson of The Central Society of Education for the Deaf for her social cause and contribution to the progress of the hearing impaired for the general public.

Ustad Amjad Ali Khan was elated. “For the musicians of India, and especially for me, the Smruti Pratishthan Award is the greatest and the most prestigious award of my life. The legendary Deenanath jee gave the revered Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle, Usha Mangeshkar, Meena Mangeshkar and Srimant Hridayanath Mangeshkar to the music world. I feel very blessed and humbled by this honor.”