The was quite a starry affair with the who’s who of B-Town gracing the prestigious event. It was a splendid evening that applauded the brilliant performances of the year 2017. The most awaited award ceremony witnessed the most deserving talent take the coveted black lady home amid much applause. The glitzy award ceremony held at Dome@NSCI, Mumbai will be on Colors.

King of Bollywood, Shah Rukh Khan made for the perfect host of the evening. He kept the audience entertained with anecdotes on the Indian Cinema then and now, one-liners and his quick wit. Karan Johar, the man who lends a different appeal altogether to every awards show, later joined the Badshah of Bollywood to co-host the show. The duo engaged the audience throughout the event with their great chemistry and comic timing. The evening also witnessed enthralling performances and acts by celebrated stars. Ranveer Singh’s ode to legendary singer Bappi Lahri was one of the most loved performances of the evening. Coming back into action on the stage of Filmfare after six years was Akshay Kumar who delivered an electrifying performance on a fusion of Hip Hop and Punjabi songs that had the audience asking for more. The versatile Ayushmann Khurrana in his soulful voice paid a tribute to the personalities who passed away last year. Sunny Leone set the stage on fire with her stunning dance moves on songs like Baby doll, Laila Mein Laila among others. Parineeti made for a complete entertainer as she ruled the stage with her engaging dance performance. The was as much about style and panache as it was about celebrating great cinema and film-making.

The Best Actor award was bagged by Irfan Khan for Hindi Medium and Vidya Balan bagged the Best Actress award for Tumhari Sullu. The Best Film award went to Hindi Medium and Ashwini Iyer won the award for Best Director. The audience was ecstatic when Raj Kumar Rao bagged the Critics Best Actor award for his performance in Trapped. The young actress Zaira Wasim bagged the Critics Best Actress award for Secret Superstar. Filmfare Short Film Awards category in its 2nd year now also witnessed a plethora of talented winners being honored with the Black Lady.

The winner’s list is as given below
Best Film (Popular)
Hindi Medium

Critics’ Award for Best Film
Amit Masurkar (Newton)

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male) (Popular)
Irrfan Khan – Hindi Medium

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Male)
Rajkummar Rao – Trapped

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female) (Popular)
Vidya Balan – Tumhari Sulu

Critics’ Award for Best Actor (Female) 
Zaira Wasim – Secret Superstar

Best Director (Popular)
Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari – Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Debut Director
Konkona Sen Sharma – A Death in the Gunj

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Meher Vij – Secret Superstar

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Rajkummar Rao – Bareilly Ki Barfi

Best Music Album
Jagga Jasoos – Pritam

Best Lyrics
Amitabh Bhattacharya – Ullu ka patha (Jagga Jasoos)

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Meghna Mishra – Nachdi Phira (Secret Superstar)

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Arijit Singh – Roke na ruke naina (Badrinath Ki Dulhania)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mala Sinha
Bappi Lahiri

Writing Awards

Best Original Story
Amit V Masurkar – Newton

Best Dialogue
Hitesh Kewalya – Shubh Mangal Saavdhan

Best Screenplay
Shubhashish Bhutiani – Mukti Bhawan

Technical Awards 

Best Action
Tom Struthers – Tiger Zinda Hai

Best Background Score
Pritam – Jagga Jasoos

Best Production Design
Parul Sondh – Daddy

Best Costume
Rohit Chaturvedi – A Death In The Gunj

Best Sound Design
Anish John – Trapped

Best Editing
Nitin Baid – Trapped

Best Choreography
Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani (Galti se mistake – Jagga Jasoos)

Best Cinematography
Sirsha Ray – A Death In The Gunj

Short Film Awards 

Best Short Film (fiction) 
Juice – Neeraj Ghaywan

Best Actor (Male) in a Short Film
Jackie Shroff – Khujli

Best Actor (Female) in a Short Film
Shefali Shah – Juice

Best Short Film Non-fiction
Invisible Wings – Hari M Mohanan

People’s Choice Award for Best Short Film
Anahut – Umesh Bagade